Reclaiming Reconciliation

Posted on August 28, 2012

0


Graeme Mundine

“For Catholics, the notion of reconciliation has rich meaning and tradition. I wonder what that Catholic tradition of reconciliation can offer the secularised and politicised concept of reconciliation. In my opinion, the idea of reconciliation has been diminished to something that can be quite superficial and what we ‘do’ in May every year. I know that there have been some positive movements. I know that strong relationships have been formed and deep and long lasting sharing has taken place, and I don’t want to negate any of that. But on the whole I think that reconciliation has not achieved all that it could. Tonight I want to offer some thoughts about what I think reconciliation is and what it isn’t and how we, as Catholics, can reclaim a deeper understanding of reconciliation”.

To read the full speech click here

